Plugged In


Landing in the Atlanta airport, my phone buzzes at me. An alert pops up telling me that my connecting flight is at Gate A20. As the phone continues to power up email notifications, text messages and other applications send me all the little reminders that the digital world is laying in predatory wait, ready to pounce on my attention the moment my focus shows a sign weakness.

When I first made the transition to a smartphone 12 months ago I was already computer literate and digitally savvy. Concerned that my sons would lack proper parental guidance for their growing digital lives, I decided I needed to advance along with the technology around us. While still young, my sons are growing up natively plugged into the digital wold. I can’t promise that I’ll stay ahead of their absorbent little sponges we call minds. But I fervently hope I can at least stay current and involved; evolving with society around me.

As I reflect back today, it strikes me how much has changed in the past year. The very core of how I communicate has fundamentally shifted. That heady anticipation of rushing home to check an answering machine evaporated some 10 years ago. This ability for people to contact me – instantly – from almost anywhere, is something truly remarkable. Now that there are so many avenues for content to be delivered to me, I find that my attention, my focus has become a premium. A premium for advertisers, a premium for my friends and even a premium for my family.

Gone are the days of random, unexpected phone calls. I find that instead of just calling me out of the blue, my friends and family will text or email me first, ensuring that it’s a reasonable time to call and that my undivided attention will be available for them. It surprises me when I call friends unexpectedly and they’ll rush to answer the phone from the shower, the bathroom, while driving or even while jogging. Profuse apologies follow a missed call. They don’t seem to understand that I don’t expect them to answer if they aren’t available to talk. I trust that they’ll return the call when they have a chance.

To me, this is symptomatic of the immediacy that the newer forms of communication provide us. When people call me, they expect me to answer right then and there no matter what is happening to me at that moment. Armed with just my phone, people can reach me by text, email, instant messaging from at least 3 different platforms, standard messaging from each social network, tweet mention, group messaging applications (like Google Plus’s Messenger), Skype and last, but certainly not least…the simple phone call. With this sheer cornucopia of choices, it’s no wonder that we’ve all begun to expect responses and answers almost immediately.

Now let’s add on the various video formats of communication. I’ve video chatted on my phone from across the room to across the deep blue ocean. Through group video chats I’ve met people from all over the world, England, Ireland, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Mexico, Canada and all over the United States. Just last night someone joined our group from South Korea…while on his phone.

In the past year I’ve certainly broadened my horizons, but I’ve also entered the world of the “plugged in”. Never more than an arm’s reach away from my phone, my hands twitch when I hear that little “buzz buzz” that means something is waiting for me. My attention is once again split, my mind wanders as I contemplate what new story hit my reader, which friend just texted me about some inane part of their day, what that latest email has to say….

….I think my phone is buzzing….

    • Derek
    • September 27th, 2011

    I used to find it crippling, but have adjusted because I’ve learn to adapt to all of these tools through my job.

    Now, I just need to convince my peers that Yahoo! is no longer “bleeding edge” technology and it’s okay to move on. 😉

    Good post.

    • Matt
    • September 30th, 2011

    I’ve been trying to adapt my self. Slowly but surly I will ..

    Great post ..
    Matt N

    • April F
    • September 30th, 2011

    Great post….but here is my question:

    When is plugged in too much? Splitting our attention, texting people we are sitting next to, huddling with others as we video chat on G+…daily little ways we begin to move away from IRL people and events. I love my technology. Probably couldn’t breath if someone took away my phone (oh wait..remember…that happened once..or twice)…however, how many times have I ignored the opportunity sitting in front of me to focus on my tech world? I do not berate technology at all. I mean, thanks to it, I am invovled in an amazing relationship. The spark, dwindle, rekindling flame and eventual fire all occurred through technology. But the IRL is so much better…and sometimes I find myself missing that for this technology that demands my attention every instant of every day (oh shiny ball!)

    I am reminded of the day we hung out at my parents’ pool with another friend. My mom looked at the three of us sitting on lounge chairs next to each other surfing the next. Not one of us was interacting with the other in that moment. We were missing the opportunity to talk to someone amazing! (Cause let’s face it..we ARE pretty amazing)

    I love technology. As a special education teacher, I see how it changes the lives of my students. It has allowed me to video chat with family around the world. It helped me meet and connect with this amazing man I now share my days with and better yet, it helps me stay connected to my friends now that I’ve moved a bit further away…. But where do we draw that line? When do we decided that this helpful tool could be considered an invasive device that could rob of us precious time with spectacular people? All that being said…I have something so funny to post on our huddle!!…gotta go!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

